NaNoWriMo Post #1: Not off to a good start…

2013-Participant-Facebook-Profile

Where I Should Be: 5,000

NaNoWriMo Word Count: 3,486

Total Word Count: 12,890

So me and NaNoWriMo didn’t get off to the best start this month. I had a very busy day Friday and was basically just exhausted by the time I got home from work. I did open my Word document, but I basically just stared at it for a long time before eventually giving up. I hated the idea of being behind already, as anyone who’s done NaNo before will know how difficult it is to catch up, even if it’s by just a day. I knew though that even if I did manage to write something it would be total garbage, and I would want to re-write it the next day anyway. I know, I know. There are probably a ton of you out there who are shouting that it’s about quantity not quality that matters during NaNo, which is true, but I still hate the idea of writing garbage just for the sake of it.

I’m slowly catching up, little by little, but I’m still struggling. While I don’t totally hate what I’m writing, it’s not brilliant. I’m finding it difficult to take it slowly and really think about the words. Instead, I’m just charging ahead and hoping for the best, which is fine for now, but I don’t see it being beneficial in the long run. The other problem with being behind is that I don’t feel like I have enough time to plan. My usual writing style is to have the basic structure of the story (what I like to call the ‘dots’) and then I plan what happens between each dot as I write. So currently I know what my next dot is, but I’m struggling to work out how to get there. I’m kind of hoping that if I just keep writing, the solution will appear out of nowhere.

Anyway, enough procrastinating. I have words to write. But before I go, I’ll leave you with a little snippet of what I’ve written so far:

‘The zombies hammered against the door. Stale flesh against glass, slamming into it over and over again, growls of frustration echoing from their throats. Evidently their comprehension skills didn’t stretch quite far enough for them to be able to work out switches or doors.’ - The Cured, Chapter Four

So how’s NaNoWriMo going for everyone else?

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Post #1: Not off to a good start…

  1. […] NaNoWriMo Post #1: Not off to a good start… […]

  2. krystal jane says:

    I don’t like the idea of words just to have words either. You never know when you’re going to be a roll though. The good thing about getting behind after the first couple of days, is that it doesn’t take too much to get back on track again or even ahead. And if you don’t hit 50k, it’s okay. The point is, you tried and pushed yourself a little harder and perhaps made more progress than you would have otherwise. :)

    Good luck going forward!

    I decided not to be crazy for once. I actually slowed down and edited some already. I’m not a go back and fix a major thing later kind of person. My brain won’t go there. Lol!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

